Oops! In January, Google may have inadvertently told you that you were using more storage space than you actually were. The company has reached out to those affected via email, who admitted that a small number of iOS users were using the Google One app, to tell them about the error. Photos, emails, and Drive files that should not have counted against your storage quota may have been added after all.
Don’t worry though – if you bought a Google One storage upgrade plan because you were told you were out of place, you should be getting a quick refund. The issue ran from January 8, 2020, to October 20, 2020, but is now resolved. How they went almost a whole year without realizing that this is beyond me, but with millions of users, I pray is it possible? I’d like to see what system they use on the inside to determine storage space, and how this snuff will pass them, first. More importantly, I would like to see how they intend to prevent this from happening again.
This will not affect your Google One membership status. No action required, but you can change or cancel your subscription if you do not need additional storage. You can log in to your account to view your modified quota usage. The photos and uploads of video will remain stored in the uploaded quality, however, they do not count towards your storage quota.
As the company tries to shape their new identity and free ourselves from advertising revenue, there are bound to be bumps along the way. While it is worrying that this has happened, at first, it is good that they are going to be honest and truthful about it, reporting publicly despite the support that they may receive as a result , and offering refunds to those affected.