Recent Competition Report – Bangladesh vs New Zealand 2nd ODI 2020/21


Mohammad Saifuddin replaced Hasan Mahmud who was injured in the same change for Bangladesh

New Zealand pick a bowl vs. Bangladesh

On a sunny day in Christchurch, New Zealand captain Tom Latham opted for bowling after winning the toss in the second ODI, the first to be played under lights at the Hagley Oval.

After defeating Bangladesh in the first game, New Zealand with XI went unchanged. That meant Matt Henry had another time with Tim Southee warming up the bench again. Despite not having much grass on the pitch, Latham backed his bowlers “making early passes” and sealed the three-game series.

Bangladesh had to make one change: Mohammad Saifuddin replaced the injured Hasan Mahmud. After being sent off for 131 in the first ODI, their captain Tamim Iqbal said he had better expectations from his bats.

“We are very proud of our batting,” Iqbal said. “The way we batted was not the last game. The routes in New Zealand for ODI cricket are generally good. Even in the last game, the ball only traveled for the first 15 pets. After that, he got better. path or mobile attack, you need a good bat. “

This is the 300th ODI for Jeff Crowe as a game referee.

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Henry Nicholls, 3 Devon Conway, 4 Will Young, 5 Tom Latham (capt & wk), 6 James Neesham, 7 Daryl Mitchell, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Kyle Jamieson, 10 Matt Henry, 11 Trent Boult

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal (capt), 2 Liton Das, 3 Soumya Sarkar, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk) 5 Mohammad Mithun, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Mehidy Hasan Miraz 8 Mahedi Hasan, 9 Taskin Ahmed, 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Mohammad Saifuddin

Hemant Brar is sub-editor of ESPNcricinfo