Joseph Diaz to defend IBF young lightweight title against Shavkatdzhon Rakhimov on February 13

Joseph “JoJo” Diaz made a childhood dream come true in January, when he became a world champion by defeating Tevin Farmer in a clever performance.

Now, Diaz will start a new era on February 13, when he will face opposing rival Shavkatdzhon Rakhimov in his first defense of the IBF young lightweight title. Although the location has not yet been confirmed, the fight will be broadcast live and directly on DAZN. Patrick Teixeira defends his WBO middleweight title against compelling opponent Brian Castaño as a key event.

Diaz, 28, can’t wait to get back to the ring and protect his strap and doesn’t disrespect Rakhimov at all.

“Shavkatdzhon Rakhimov is a very good fighter who is highly regarded all over the world,” Diaz said in a DAZN press release. “I know he’s been mourning for the world title picture, but I’m ready to go out there and show that I’m willing to fight my best and defend my title with whoever wants to go in that ring with me. I am the best hunter I have ever been, and there is nothing that will bring him to the table that will impress me. ”

Oscar De La Hoya says Diaz didn’t work so hard to become a world champion only to gain new status.

“After being involved in the Olympics and turning professional, Joseph had one goal: to become a world champion,” said De La Hoya, owner of Golden Boy Promotions. count Diaz as one of his stars. “Everyone at Golden Boy Promotions was so proud when Joseph raised his hand and realized his dream. Now that he has that belt, he won’t give it away anytime soon. ”

The undeveloped Rakhimov (15-0, 12 KOs) is looking forward to testing his skills against an aggressive Diaz (31-1, 15 KO).

“I have been waiting for this opportunity for a long time,” Rakhimov said. “Thank you for this opportunity to my team. My training camp is long but very good. I will do my best to win this fight. I came here for the win! ”

The Diaz vs Rakhimov card will be broadcast live on DAZN in more than 200 countries, including the USA, Mexico, Russia, Tajikistan, Brazil and Argentina.